Saturday 18 May 2013

Marta Andreasen and Richard Ainsworth deselected

Marta Andreasen has been deselected by the Tory electoral college meaning she'll have to slug it out with the plebs for a place on the regional list.

Marta isn't the only sitting MEP to be snubbed by members of the Tory electoral college: their europhile leader, Richard Ashworth, has also been deselected.

Dan Hannan and Nirj Deva have been reselected which means that realistically, unless Ashworth or Andreasen can get themselves voted into third place on the south east regional list by the Tory party general membership they're most likely going to be out of a job.